Game of Thrones: Jaime and the High Sparrow

Game of Thrones Season 6 Episode 02 Home

As the body of Myrcella lies in the Great Sept of Baelor, Jaime is approached by the High Sparrow, where the tension rises dangerously between the Faith Militant and the Crown.

TOMMEN: She grew up.
JAIME: Almost.
TOMMEN: Have we caught Prince Trystane’s killers? I expect it was Mother.
JAIME: Your mother wouldn’t do that.
TOMMEN: Yes, she would.
JAIME: Are you angry with her?
TOMMEN: Of course not.
JAIME: Then why didn’t you let her come? She has every right to be here.
TOMMEN: They told me she wouldn’t be allowed in the Sept. If she had tried–
JAIME: They’re not putting your mother in a cell ever again. Not while I’m here. Why haven’t you gone to see her? Everything she endured, she did it for you.
TOMMEN: Don’t you think I know that? I’m sorry. But I can’t.
JAIME: Why not?
TOMMEN: When the Faith Militant seized her and Margaery, what did I do? When they paraded her through the streets like a whore, what did I do?
JAIME: We all fail sometimes.
TOMMEN: The king is supposed to be the Protector of the Realm. If I can’t even protect my own wife or my own mother, what good am I?
JAIME: Go and see your mother and ask her to forgive you.

Untitled-33

Untitled-34

Untitled-35

Untitled-36

Untitled-37

Untitled-38

Untitled-39

Untitled-40

Untitled-41

HIGH SPARROW: Your Grace. Lord Commander.
TOMMEN: I want to see my wife.
HIGH SPARROW: The gods wait for Queen Margaery to confess her crimes and seek their mercy. The king must wait as well.
JAIME: Go and see your mother, Tommen. You’re a bold man.
HIGH SPARROW: On the contrary. I fear a great deal. The Father, the Mother, the Warrior. Do you know why we use these stones? To remind us not to fear death. We close our eyes on this world and open them on the next.
JAIME: You must long for the next life.
HIGH SPARROW: In truth, I fear that, too.
JAIME: You imprisoned and humiliated my sister.
HIGH SPARROW: Your sister sought the gods’ mercy and atoned for her sin.
JAIME: What about my sins? I broke a sacred oath and stabbed my king in the back. I killed my own cousin. When the gods judged my brother guilty, I helped him escape their justice. What atonement
do I deserve?
HIGH SPARROW: You would spill blood in this holy place?
JAIME: Oh, the gods won’t mind. They’ve spilled more blood than the rest of us combined.
HIGH SPARROW: Go on, then. I deserve it. We all do. We are weak, vain creatures. We live only by the Mother’s mercy.
JAIME: They should be closer if you mean for them to save you.
HIGH SPARROW: I don’t. They’d never reach me before you struck.
JAIME: I’ve fought against worse odds.
HIGH SPARROW: No doubt many of us would fall. But who are we, hmm? We have no names, no family. Every one of us is poor and powerless. And yet together, we can overthrow an empire.

Untitled-42

Untitled-43

Untitled-44

Untitled-45

Untitled-46

Leave a Reply

