Game of Thrones: Brienne and the Blackfish

Game of Thrones Season 6 Episode 08 No One

Brienne attempts to negotiate with the Blackfish, but he refuses to abandon Riverrun, despite being sympathetic to Sansa’s plight.

BRIENNE: As I have said, my name is–
BLACKFISH: Yes, Brienne of Tarth. I know your father. Good man.
BRIENNE: He always spoke highly of you.
BLACKFISH: And if he were here now, I’d tell him the same I’m telling you. If you think I’m abandoning my family’s seat on the Kingslayer’s word of honor, you’re a bloody fool.
BRIENNE: Riverrun cannot stand against the Lannisters and the Freys.
BLACKFISH: We can stand longer than your one-handed friend thinks we can.
BRIENNE: He’s not my friend.
BLACKFISH: No? Who gave you permission to cross the siege line and enter the castle? Who gave you that sword with the gold lion on the pommel?
BRIENNE: Ser Jaime kept his word to your niece Catelyn Stark. He sent me to find Sansa, to help her as Catelyn wanted. He gave me this sword to protect her. That is what I have done and I will continue to do until the day I die.
BLACKFISH: She’s exactly like her mother. I don’t have enough men to help her take Winterfell.
BRIENNE: You have more than she does.
BLACKFISH: She wants her home back. I understand that. But this is my home. And if Jaime Lannister wants it, he can bloody well take it the way everyone else does.

Untitled-1

Untitled-2

Untitled-3

Untitled-4

Untitled-5

Untitled-6

BRIENNE: Find the maester. We need to get a raven north to Sansa.
PODRICK: What should I write?
BRIENNE: Tell her I failed.

Untitled-7

Untitled-8

Untitled-9

Untitled-10

To be continued on the next post.

Source text: Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

